About Us

What is NNUKRF?

The Novo Nordisk UK Research Foundation is a corporate foundation dedicated to funding research, developing young researchers, and supporting education among the diabetes health professional community in the UK. The Foundation is a registered independent charity (No 1056410) and is solely supported by Novo Nordisk Ltd in line with the Company’s business philosophy to balance financial, social and environmental considerations.

The Foundation is overseen by an independent and voluntary Board of Trustees (click here) this will link to the list of trustees below when live


The Foundation was founded in 1996.  2023 marks 27 successful years growing our knowledge and understanding of diabetes and improving care for people with diabetes by supporting research into the causes, treatment and prevention of the condition and by the education of health care professionals.

What we do

The Foundation has 3 main funding streams aimed to achieve the objectives and strategy:

Research Fellowships
View Success Rates

View Success Rates

Fund Awards
View Success Rates

The Terms of reference for the Trustees and Committees can be found here: Terms of Reference and Policies including Privacy


  • Professor David Russell-Jones (Chairman)
  • Dr Pratik Choudhary
  • Professor Shareen Forbes
  • Professor Dan Cuthbertson
  • Professor Simon Griffin
  • Mr Alex Todd
  • Dr Avideh Nazeri
  • Professor Steve Luzio
  • Dr Danijela Tatovic
  • Professor Richard Holt
  • Professor Steve Luzio

Research Selection Committee

  • Dr Pratik Choudhary (Chairman)
  • Dr Chris Garrett
  • Dr Mark Evans
  • Professor Philip Evans
  • Dr Rhian Daniel
  • Mrs Angela Hancock
  • Professor Tricia Tan
  • Dr Loredana Marcovecchio
  • Dr Dinesh Selvarajah
  • Dr Angus Jones
  • Professor Sarah Wild

Nurses & Allied Healthcare Professional Selection Committee

  • Vacancy (Chairman)
  • Ms Maureen Bates
  • Ms Sandra Mulrennan
  • Dr Roxanne Nwaobi
  • Julie Brake
  • Dr Kirsty Winkley
  • Ruth Waxman
  • Anne Middleton
  • Hannah Beba

  • Dr Michelle Hadjiconstantinou

Foundation Secretary

Awards Now Open 2024

2024 applications – NOW CLOSED